Skip to content

Work in Progress 4 – More Modeling

March 22, 2013

So I have now linked all the car parts to the transformer and have fully animated a lot of them. It is now time for the next phase of the modeling, although, as always, I will be continually improving the animation, texturing and rendering as new ideas occur to me.

I need to fill in any empty space between parts with geometry. At the moment, the front of the car has some good motion when transforming, but lacks solidity; it is just a load of floating parts at the moment.

This is the stage of the project which should help to really sell the car transforming into a robot, rather than just having pieces of it stuck on to a robot which was always lying prone underneath. The reason I have left such a large chunk of the modeling until this stage is because now I can model around the car parts, I can model on top of the car parts. This will make it look like they really are part of the robot and I can animate the new geometry pulling parts of the car into position, and that position will be moulded around the parts; it should help to make them look like they ‘belong’.

WIP10     WIP19 WIP20 WIP14

Again, I have created videos from some of my screenshot sqeuences (change quality settings to 720p):

At this stage, I have started to put my earlier texturing plans into practice. I had hoped that I would be able to create good realistic textures simply using procedural maps and not requiring any photos or UV coordinates to be unwrapped. However, although the model looked a lot better after the application of metallic properties to the materials, it just wasn’t good enough and I have started unwrapping the whole thing. My first strategy was to pelt map everything, giving visible faces as much texture space as possible, while reducing the texture space of faces that will never be seen. This caused distortion of the texture and so I opted to use flatten mapping for the majority of the mechanical parts. This was less time consuming and gave a better result.

WIP11

For objects composed of multiple elements, I placed all the UVs of each element on top of one another; I will not be using anything other than the raw material photos (I will not be hand painting each piece with scratches etc), so this will not be a problem.

WIP12 WIP13

I have used a single multi/sub object material to texture the new geometry. This way, I can texture by simply selecting parts at the element sub-object level and changing the material ID number. This is useful as it saves space in my full material editor, and it means making changes are a simple affair; just select and change the number rather than select, open material editor, find material, apply to selection etc.

I have sourced and tweaked a number of photos. From each of these I create a material layer. A few materials use no photo reference and just use car paint material with different colours. There is a self illuminating standard material and a glass material for the eyes.

Textures

These are google-sourced royalty-free images, all of which have been tidied up and coloured to my needs in Photoshop.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

